BJP Wins Election in India


Date published: Wed, 5 June 24

India’s election results are in – and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) of Hindutva Prime Minister Narendra Modi, won 240 seats of India’s Parliament. 272 seats are needed to signify a majority in the lower house of India’s Parliament. The election results signify a loss for the BJP, which has seen much better results in elections in the past 2 decades in India. With the BJP’s allies in Parliament, the BJP secured a majority of 293 seats. 

The opposition to BJP, led by the Indian National Congress, won 232 seats. In 2019, the BJP won 353 seats. 

Surprisingly, the majority of Uttar Pradesh’s seats won 64 seats for the Indian National Congress. The province has been governed by the BJP since 2017. Even more surprisingly, the BJP lost in the district which is the home of the Ram temple in Ayodhya, built upon the destroyed Babri Masjid. The mosque was demolished by a Hindu mob in 1992, and the construction of the monstrous Ayodhya temple was a central part to the BJP campaign. 

Much of the dissent towards BJP was from Muslims, who have been the target of intense oppression and discrimination at the hands of the BJP, and other marginalized communities. 

Before the elections, Modi’s government passed a new discriminatory law that violates the rights of Muslims. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) government began implementing the Citizenship Amendment Act, which the Indian parliament had initially launched in 2019. The law expedites citizenship requests from non-Muslims fleeing religious persecution from India’s neighbors – Pakistan, Bangladesh, and Afghanistan, but excludes Muslim refugees. 

The BJP has further elaborated on plans for a proposed nationwide citizenship verification process, that would identify all types of immigrants. In 2019, the Indian state of Assam after CAA law was implemented, designated over a million Muslims in Assam as foreigners and stateless. The Muslims in Assam include those who belong to tribal indigenous communities and ethnic/minority communities. 

The far-right Hindu government regularly evokes tropes of foreigners and invaders on Muslims, attempting to make it seem as if Indian Muslims do not have a right in the country. After protests all over India after the initial launching of the bill in 2019, the Modi government did not implement the law. That has changed now, with the government fully implementing the CAA.

The BJP failed to win any seats in Punjab, and lost five seats in Haryana, where previously, it had won 10 seats. Punjab was the heart of the Farmers’ Protest, where thousands of farmers marched on the capital of New Delhi to make demands to the government. Protests were met with police brutality. 

In Rajasthan, Sanjana Jatav, a Dalit woman, defeated the BJP candidate, and has become the youngest member of Parliament from the Dalit community. 

And although the results are surprising, Modi has still claimed victory. It is more crucial than ever to continue fighting for India’s most oppressed – Dalits, Muslims, and Kashmiris. As the results are celebratory on one hand, it is important to not forget the context of the Indian state, as an occupier and colonial state in Kashmir. In conversations of Indian elections and democracy, Kashmir is oft forgotten.